Professor of History
Advisor, Medieval and Renaissance Studies Center
Texas Tech University





Graduate Advisor, Medieval & Renaissance Studies Graduate Certificate Program, 2011-.

Dean's Representative, for Dina Hassan's defense of "Bilingual Creativity and Anglo-Arab Texts: Towards a Methodological Framework Drawing on World Englishes and translation Studies." Department of English, June 21, 2017.

Interim Director, TTU Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2017-2018.

Co-Director, TTU Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2011-2017.

Member, CMLL Graduate Program Evaluation Committee, 2016.

Board Member, Texas Tech Faculty Legal Action Association Inc., 2014-17, 2011-14, 2007-10, 2004-06.  Member, TTFLAA Election Committee, Spring 1985.  TTFLAA. Founding Member, 1985-.

Vice President
, Texas Tech Chapter, American Association of University Professors (AAUP), 2012-13, President, 2007-08; Vice President,   l993-94; member 1984-.

Parliamentarian, TTU Faculty Senate, 2011-13.

Member, Faculty Senate Study Committee C, 2010-2013.

Representative for Faculty at Large, Faculty Development Committee, 2011-2012, 2002-05, 1996-98, 1989-92.

Member, University Tenure Hearing Committee, Summer 2012.

Member, Arts and Sciences Tenure and Promotion Review Committee, 2009-12.

Chair, TTU Humanities CORE Committee, 2009-2011

Member, Steering Committee, TTU Core Curriculum Committee, 2009-2011.

Organizer, TTU Initiative to create a graduate Certificate in Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2009-2011.

Project Director, "The Medieval Southwest:  Manifestations of the Old World in the New" (exhibition held in the Southwest Collection Building, August 24, 2008, to April 4, 2009).

Faculty Grievance Panel, 2008-10, 2003-05, 2002-03.

Director, TTU Non-Credit Medieval Latin Reading Group, 2008-, 1998-02.

Member, Task Force on Making TTU an Ethical Institution, part of the TTU Quality Enhancement Plan:  “Do the Right Thing:  A Campus Conversation on Ethics,” 2006-2009.

SACS-COC Compliance Initiative, General Committee, 2007-Dec 2008.

Evaluation Panel , President's Faculty Book Award, 2008.

Humanities Representative, Graduate Council, 2007-08.

Member, Student Affairs Subcommittee, Graduate Council, 2007-08.

Member, Panel for Tenure Hearing for Arts & Sciences, 2006-07..

President, Faculty Senate, 2005-06, 1996-97.

Member, Provost’s Council, 2005-06.

Member President’s Budget Advisory Council, 2005-06.

Observer, Horn Professor Award Committee, 2005-06.

Membership Committee, Texas Tech Teaching Academy, 2004-05; Founding Member, Texas Tech Teaching Academy, 1997-.

Graduate School Dean’s Representative, for the defense of  Diana Dominguez, “Is dethbir disi:  Applying the Lens of Gender Parody to Medb in the Old Irish Ulster Cycle.” Department of English, June 30, 2004.

Senator, Representative for Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate, 2004-, 2001-03, 1994-97.

Assisted with local SACS site report, Texas Tech -- Hill Country, Summer 2002.

Inaugural Faculty Member, Texas Tech--Hill Country.

Member, TTU IT Web for Faculty Enhancement Group, 2001-02.

Member of the Faculty Incentive Grants Competition Committee of the Teaching, Learning, and Technology Center, 1999-2002, 1996-98.

Faculty at Large Representative, Panel for Tenure Hearing, 1999-2002.

Member, Provost's Committee regarding the Texas Tech Faculty Workload Policy, 1997-2000.

Graduate School Dean's Representative at the dissertation defense of Basnagoda Rahula, Fall 2000.

Member, Core Committee for the Urbanovsky Fellowship Endowment, 1997-2000.

Member, "Standards for Evaluating Teaching Effectiveness" subcommittee of the "Self Study on Evaluating Teaching Effectiveness," 1999.

Member, Arts and Sciences Promotion Advisory Committee for John R. E. Bliese's application for promotion to Professor (Communications Studies), 1998-99.

Graduate School Dean's Representative at the dissertation defense of Victoria McLure, Fall 1998.

Member, Graduate Program Review Advisory Committee Task Force, 1997-98.

Representative for Arts & Sciences (Humanities), General Education Committee, 1995-98.

Member, Intercollegiate Athletics Compliance Coordinator Search Committee, Summer 1997.

Member, Advisory Board, Center for Teaching, Learning, and Technology, 1995-97.

Member, Gloria Lyerla Library Memorial Research Travel Grant Award Committee, 1996.

Member, Faculty Senate Budget Study Committee, 1994-96.

Member, Task Force to Establish a Center for Teaching and Technology, 1995.

Chair, Committee on Undergraduate Education, for TTU's decennial reaccreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1992-94.

Member, Arts and Sciences Research Council, 1992-93.

Member, Library Automation Committee, 1989-92.

Member, Library Automation Committee Subcommittee on Automated Catolog Public Access, 1989-92.

Chair, TTU Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Teaching, 1989-90.

Senator (at large), Faculty Senate, 1986-89.

Member, Senate Faculty Status and Welfare Committee, 1986-89.

Co-Founder and Member of the TTU Traditio Colloquium, 1982-84. 

Return to Vita